Deadpool & Logan Join Disney Plus From July 22

The first R-rated films will arrive on Disney Plus tomorrow (July 22). Deadpool, Deadpool 2, and Logan will be available to stream on the platform after Disney acquired 20th Century Fox in 2019. “We’re supposed to announce Logan and Deadpool will soon be the first R-rated movies on Disney+.” Ryan Reynolds, who stars as Deadpool, the ‘Merc with a Mouth’ posted via Twitter to break the announcement. 

In his fashionably quippy style, the 45-year-old actor continued: “But we all know some Disney movies should already be rated R for irreversible trauma.” In response to the post, Hugh Jackman agreed with his statement, saying: “No amount of mutant healing factor could heal these emotional scars. Great movies for family night in!” 

Deadpool was released in 2016 and served as a spin-off to the X-Men series, starring Morena Baccarin, Ed Skrein, T.J. Miller, and Gina Carano. Reynolds plays Wade Wilson, a special forces operative working as a mercenary searching for the man who gives him mutant abilities and a disfigured physical appearance. 

The sequel in 2018 sees Wilson return and form the short-lived X-Force super-team to take on a time-travelling super-soldier, Cable (Josh Brolin). The sequel further stars Zazie Beetz and Julian Dennison. Logan, released a year earlier, was met with critical acclaim and served as Hugh Jackman’s final film and the third and last film in the Wolverine trilogy. 

The films will be the latest in a recent wave of more adult-oriented Marvel productions to join Disney Plus. In March, as reported by FlickLuster, Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Punisher, and The Defenders joined the platform. Most recently, following its cinematic release, Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness joined the streaming platform on June 22.

For more Marvel content, make sure to look at FlickLuster’s review for Thor: Love and Thunder.

Matt Bailey

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments