The Walking Dead Universe – AMC’s Timeline Of What’s Next

After eleven seasons, The Walking Dead reached its conclusion last November. It was confirmed yesterday that Fear The Walking Dead would bow out with its eighth and final season in May. Nonetheless, The Walking Dead’s universe is alive and kicking and continues to expand, with AMC revealing a timeline of what we can expect for the year ahead.

In a press release from AMC, the network announced that the upcoming Maggie and Negan Manhattan spin-off, The Walking Dead: Dead City, would debut on an undisclosed date in June 2023, followed by the Daryl-centric spin-off in France, titled The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon, would land on the network sometime after.

Additionally, we’ve got the untitled Rick and Michonne story, which begins production this year, expected to debut in 2024. The conclusion of Fear, according to Scott M. Gimple, the chief content officer of The Walking Dead Universe, described the final run as “one of its most vibrant, inventive, exciting seasons EVER.”

Maggie and Negan’s Dead City story finds them in New York, described as a “crumbling city” occupied by “the dead and denizens who have made New York City their own world full of anarchy, danger, beauty, and terror.”

Daryl’s story, meanwhile, starring Norman Reedus, Clémence Poésy and Adam Nagaitisand, brings the archer “across a broken but resilient France as he hopes to find a way back home. As he makes the journey, though, the connections he forms along the way complicate his ultimate plan.”

The Rick and Michonne spin-off, hailed as “an epic love story,” asks the question of whether they can “find each other and who they were in a place and situation unlike any they’ve ever known before? Are they enemies? Lovers? Victims? Victors? Without each other, are they even alive — or will they find that they, too, are the Walking Dead?”

Matt Bailey

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments